​2016 LG Promotion Letters to be Out Soon – Hajia Sarat, Chair Kwara LG Service Commission

The Executive Chairman, Kwara Local Government Service Commission, Hajia Sarat Adebayo held an official inaugural meeting with the DPMs and Treasurers of all the sixteen local government councils in Kwara State today the 23rd January, 2017 at the Commission’s Conference Hall, Ilorin.

In her welcome address, appreciated God almighty, thanked the Nigerian Senate President, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki and the Executive Governor of Kwara State, Alhaji Abdulfatah Ahmed for the opportunity given her and other members of the Board to serve in the capacity of an Executive Chairman of Local Government Service Commission along with her other members.
While addressing all the DPMs and Treasurers of the councils, solicited their total support in driving the Local Government Service Commission to an enviable height to justify the confidence reposed in them and make difference in the current administration.
At the official inaugural session, Hajia Sarat Adebayo noted that the 2016 promotion letters will soon be released while preparation for the 2017 promotion exercise would start in earnest. She added that the Commission would from time to time monitor the activities of each LGA.
She acknowledged that this period is a challenging one due to salary arrears in the LG but with the cooperation of everyone, the Commission will definitely move out it soon. 
Talking about the different levels of challenges confronting the staff of the local government ranging from;

Undue deduction, problems in November/December salaries, she assured that all the affected staff have been captured in their various departments and solutions have been so far proffered. 
The Chairman, Hajia Sarat, therefore, urged the LG staff to shun laziness, lateness, indiscipline, and other illicit acts. She frowned at absenteeism and lateness of staffers in the LGAs. She therefore encouraged them to be more professional, proactive and creative in their daily duties to add value to the system. 
Hajia Sarat frowned at certain local government workers who have abandoned their LG secretariat and resulted to area offices in the State capital to desist and return to their main LG secretariats for their daily operations.

“Henceforth, the Commission will not take it lightly the attitude of LG staffers taking solace at their area offices within the State capital while their council offices are put under lock and key. Every staff member should operate from their secretariats”, she added.
The Chairman while talking about the budgets of the various LG Councils, emphasized that all budgetary plans should be submitted before the end of the proceeding year for prompt implementation in the fiscal year. 
“A situation where a budget is released in August/September of the same budget year is useless”, she added. 
The Chairman LG Service Commission, Hajia Sarat, on training, assured the LG staffers of better days. She explained, “You all are aware of the challenges presently facing the Commission in terms of funding. We want to assure you that immediately the situation improves, we will embark on different training exercises for the LG staffers.”

While calling on staffers to follow due process in carrying out their activities, she warned that no staff should go on course without obtaining approval from the Commission.
The Chairman, Hajia Sarat, affirmed that every staff, both senior and junior have been captured and the Commission is working round the clock to ensure that nobody is left behind on the Commission’s database. She promised to make available the data base at every LGA at the completion of the exercise. 
This, she said, was in line with the open door policy, honesty, and trustworthiness of the administration of His Excellency, Dr. Abdulfatah Ahmed, the Executive Governor of Kwara State.
The meeting which was chaired by the Executive Chairman Kwara State Local Government Service Commission, Hajia Sarat Nike Adebayo herself, had in attendance other members of the LG Service Commission Board Members, Permanent Secretary, DPMs and Treasurers of all the Local Government Areas in Kwara.